skip to Main Content

Area Description

The Southeast Region includes counties:

Chaves, Curry, De Baca, Eddy, Lea, Lincoln, Otero and Roosevelt,.

The region encompasses large expanses of shortgrass prairie and Chihuahuan Desert, as well as the lower Pecos River watershed and the Gallinas, Capitan, Sacramento, and Guadalupe mountains. Primary economic activities include ranching, oil and gas development, tourism, rural ranchette development and military installations. Most of the land ownership consists of private, Bureau of Land Management, Lincoln National Forest and State Trust lands.

Back To Top